The Feral Honey Bee is virtually extinct in Switzerland – which is why we endeavour to protect and promote it as an integral part of our biodiversity!

Apis mellifera

The varroa mite and pesticides are not solely responsible for bee mortality as can be evidenced over and over again and year after year by a handful of feral bee colonies left in Switzerland. Beekeeping has become a revenue-maximising livestock industry which merely treats symptoms and prevents bees from naturally adapting to environmental changes. The Western honeybee has evolved extremely successfully in the last 30 million years yet now this evolution is hampered and overrun by human selection.

Tree Beekeeping

Nowadays, honey can only be harvested by unnatural means and harsh interventions that impact on the natural process of a bee colony. Fortunately, the economic and environmental needs of our time do not rely on honey, but on the pollination and conservation of biodiversity! Our projects aim towards pursuing a diversification of a sustainable (extensive) honey production, natural (feral) bees and nature-oriented and natural beekeeping to safeguard their pollination services and their ability to adapt to environmental changes.  It goes without saying that honey remains an important incentive for beekeepers and a sweet luxury treat that we look forward to spreading on our bread in the mornings – and rightly so, provided this is done correctly.

FreeTheBees is a not for profit organisation and our mission is to show and to demonstrate in practical terms how we can overcome the current bee mortality crisis as balancing both economic and ecological concerns in the LONG TERM.

No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it.

Albert Einstein

L’abeille mellifère sauvage a pratiquement disparu de Suisse – Nous la protégeons en tant qu’élément important de notre biodiversité !

Westliche HonigbieneNi l’acarien Varroa, ni les pesticides ne peuvent être les seuls responsables de la mortalité des abeilles. Les colonies sauvages de Suisse nous en apportent la preuve, année après année. L’apiculture de production s’est transformée en un élevage orienté vers la maximisation du rendement, traitant des symptômes et empêchant l’abeille de s’adapter aux modifications environnementales. L’évolution hautement efficace de 30 millions d’années de l’abeille occidentale est maintenant interrompue et altérée par la sélection artificielle.

Zeidler auf BaumLa récolte de miel n’est aujourd’hui possible qu’artificiellement, en s’ingérant peu ou prou dans les processus naturels d’une colonie. Par chance, l’ère actuelle ne dépend ni économiquement ni écologiquement du miel en tant que tel, mais bien plutôt du processus de pollinisation et de la conservation de la biodiversité! Avec nos projets, nous poursuivons les objectifs de diversification suivants: production de miel durable (extensive), protection des abeilles méllifères sauvages et l’apiculture proche de la nature, adaptée aux exigences de l’espèce afin de garantir performance de pollinisation et adaptabilité aux changements environnementaux. Le miel reste logiquement la principale motivation de l’apiculteur et un produit sucré de luxe, que nous nous aimons étaler le matin sur notre tranche de pain et ceci d’autant plus s’il est issu d’une production respectueuse de la nature.

L’organisation à but non lucratif FreeTheBees a pour objectifs de démontrer et présenter dans la pratique comment nous nous libérons de l’actuelle mortalité des abeilles et comment nous pouvons concilier à LONG TERME les préoccupations économiques et écologiques.

Aucun problème ne peut être résolu sans changer le niveau de conscience qui l’a engendré.

Albert Einstein